If I delete a file, will the attached chats disappear? ← Files and folders No. When you delete files or folders from a FileChat your linked discussions will still be available. Nothing gets lost. Only the messages attached to a deleted file will show a "missing file" icon. You can easily search for any specific content using our nifty Search feature. If you want to remove those chat, no problem just delete the FileChat itself.